Go to navigation (press enter key)Menu

2016/17 Senior Thesis Schedule Deadlines

This is the summary schedule for the senior thesis. The schedule and guidelines communicate the program's expectations at each stage of the thesis. Students are responsible for observing thesis deadlines. Please note: schedule includes deadlines for faculty advisors as well as deadlines for students. 

Fall Semester 2016

Wednesday, August 31 & Thursday, September 1
Discussion of senior theses in IS Senior Seminar (INTL 305) meetings.

Monday, September 12
Students complete and submit Senior Thesis Topic Proposal Form due in Program Office by 4pm.

Monday, September 19
Students submit thesis proposal, draft outline and bibliography by 4pm in Program office.

Monday, Sept 26 – Sept 30
Program faculty reviews thesis proposals.   Thesis proposals with comments from Program faculty will be returned to students shortly thereafter.

Wednesday, October 5
Signed agreement from two advisers due in Program office at 4pm.

October Break (Friday, Oct. 14 - Sunday, Oct. 23)

Monday, October 24-28
Students schedule meeting with both advisers.

Monday, November 7
Thesis advisers are encouraged to send progress report to Program Director (tikoechlin@vassar.edu).

Monday, November 14
Students submit detailed outline, chapter summaries, and revised bibliography to each adviser and the Program Office.

Thursday, December 8
Work-in-progress presentations, 8:30am – 3:00 pm.

Spring Semester 2017

Wednesday, January 26 – Friday, February 3
Students meet with thesis advisers to report on progress over the inter-semester break. If joint meetings are impossible, students may meet with advisers separately.   Both advisors must be consulted.  Advisers are encouraged to send progress report to the Program Director. 

Friday, February 24
Students submit a copy of thesis draft to each adviser.

Wednesday, March 8
Thesis advisers do their best to share comments on thesis drafts with their thesis advisees and the IS Director by this date.

Spring Break (Friday, March 10 - Sunday, March 26)

Monday, March 28 - Friday, April 1
Students schedule meetings with advisers to go over thesis draft comments. Problems and/or concerns reported to Program Director by advisers.

Friday, April 28
Students submit completed thesis to advisers and the Program Office by 4pm.

Friday, May 12
Advisers do their best to return theses with comments and grade to Program Director.